The Blair Mallory Two Book Series

Author: Linda Howard 

Type: Romantic suspense







Two Book Series Available on Amazon

Reviewed by Tonya

Rating: 4 Stars

Heat Level: 3🔥🔥🔥 (Steamy and descriptive but not erotic)


From Book 1: Blair Mallory lives the good life. She’s pretty, confident, and the owner of a thriving up-scale fitness center. But in the shadow of success, a troubled member of the club develops a strange fixation on Blair, imitating her style and dress. Matters take a darker turn when the look-alike is shot dead–and Blair witnesses the horror.

As the media speculates on the tawdry details of the homicide and pushes Blair into the harsh spotlight, she locks horns with police lieutenant Wyatt Bloodsworth. He wants to lead an investigation without interference, while Blair is determined to probe the dead woman’s life on her own. But when someone begins to menace Blair with mounting threats, Wyatt takes notice: Was this murder indeed a lethal case of mistaken identity–and was Blair the intended victim?

From book 2:

Blair Mallory has already survived one murder attempt. Now, while planning her wedding and dealing with holiday-season madness, Blair once again dodges a bullet. Or more precisely, a Buick. And though the driver’s identity remains a mystery, his or her murderous intentions are all too clear.

Or are they? After all, Blair’s homicidal ex-husband and his partner in crime/wife are safely behind bars. And even Wyatt Bloodsworth, her police detective groom-to-be, isn’t inclined to believe she’s being targeted again. All of which makes Blair wonder if her close call was simply a mishap. But the wondering stops when she narrowly cheats death again in another seemingly innocent accident. Two strikes is all it takes to convince Blair that she’s back in someone’s crosshairs. And the only thing more frightening is that Wyatt still doubts her. That means this time, no one will be watching Blair’s back when she sets out to get the drop on her would-be killer–before whoever it is finally drops her.


Linda Howard is one of my favorite authors. She writes amazing romantic suspense. This series is romantic suspense but it’s lighter and funnier than her other books. These are older books but still some of my favorites (I’ve read them a couple of times) when I want something light to read. Blair Mallory and Wyatt Bloodsworth are a lot of fun. She witnesses a murder in the parking lot of the gym she owns and since Wyatt is a cop he shows up at the scene. These 2 have a little bit of a history that didn’t end well and she is not happy to see him again. Blair is a former cheerleader who went to college on a cheerleading scholarship. Someone is out to get Blair even though she swears that she has no enemies. Wyatt tells her “You were a cheerleader. There must be hundreds of people who want to kill you.” HaHa! I thought that was funny. Blair wasn’t amused. That comment earned Wyatt another entry on the growing list of his transgressions that Blair makes throughout the books. They both have strong personalities and want to be ‘in charge.’ Blair doesn’t like that Wyatt ‘always wins’ or gets his way but when it comes to keeping her safe he will do whatever it takes and doesn’t care if she likes it or not. He’s not always successful though and Blair has some close calls. A lot happens in these books and it’s a fun ride with these two, even with all the danger lurking around them. The supporting cast is great too. I recommend these books if you’re looking for something light and funny. I recommend other books by Linda Howard if you’re looking for more intense romantic suspense.

No cliffhangers but I highly recommend reading both books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *